Budget
  • Can Lawmakers Avoid a Fiscal Fiasco?

    Congress has until the end of September to fund the government for the next fiscal year and avoid another shutdown. It might have even less time to raise the government’s borrowing limit and avoid a...

  • White House economic adviser Larry Kudlow speaks during a meeting of the Economic Club of New York in New York

    Larry Kudlow Again Says That US Debt Isn’t a Problem

    By Michael Rainey

    Larry Kudlow, director of the National Economic Council, said Tuesday that in his view the $22.5 trillion national debt is not a pressing issue. "I don't see this as a huge problem at all right now...

  • The High-Stakes Budget Fight Ahead

    Lawmakers returning from their July 4th recess face a potentially messy fight over raising spending caps and the debt ceiling, even as battles over border and immigration policies continue — and an...

  • An overcrowded fenced area holding families at a Border Patrol station is seen in McAllen

    The Next Big Border Fight?

    In the last seven months, we’ve seen a 35-day government shutdown driven by disagreements over border wall funding and a congressional clash over a $4.5 billion emergency border funding bill. Now,...

  • A Bradley Fighting Vehicle is moved into place as July Fourth preparations continue at Lincoln Memorial in Washington

    Trump’s ‘Salute to America’ Sparks Fireworks on the 4th

    By Michael Rainey

    President Trump famously admired the nationalistic display of military might he witnessed in Paris on Bastille Day two years ago. “It was one of the greatest parades I’ve ever seen,” Trump said at a...

  • U.S. President Trump celebrates with Congressional Republicans after passage of GOP tax bill at the White House in Washington

    How Washington Stopped Worrying About the Debt

    By Michael Rainey

    A major attitude shift has washed over Washington, The Wall Street Journal’s Kate Davidson and Jon Hilsenrath wrote Thursday: “Political support for taming federal debt has melted away.” Not so long...

  • U.S. President Trump and Poland's President Duda watch F-35 flyover at the White House in Washington

    F-35 Price Drops, but Serious Technical Problems Remain

    By Michael Rainey

    A Marine Corps F-35 stealth fighter flew low and slow over the White House Wednesday, putting on what ABC News called a “rare, if not unprecedented” show for President Trump and President Andrzej...

  • 7 Ways to Fix America’s Fiscal Mess

    Tackling the $22 trillion national debt can be done in very different ways. Underscoring that point, the Peter G. Peterson Foundation, a non-profit, non-partisan organization focused on increasing...

  • A firefighter watches the flames of the Carr Fire advance as it burns west of Redding

    The Fiscal Risks of Climate Change Are Rising

    The House Budget Committee held a hearing Tuesday looking at the risks posed to the federal budget and the U.S. economy by climate change — or at least that’s what the hearing was supposed to be...

  • U.S. President Trump speaks to reporters at meeting with manufacturing workers at the White House in Washington

    No Border Wall Funding in Homeland Security Bill

    By Michael Rainey

    The House Appropriations Committee advanced a $63.8 billion Homeland Security bill Tuesday, setting up a potential confrontation with Republican lawmakers and the White House over money for the...

Budget Directory

Tags
Wednesday, May 2, 2012 - 12:14am
Tuesday, April 3, 2012 - 2:24pm
Tuesday, April 3, 2012 - 1:20pm
Friday, March 16, 2012 - 12:20pm
Tuesday, February 28, 2012 - 12:54pm
Tuesday, February 28, 2012 - 12:07am
Thursday, February 2, 2012 - 11:39am
Monday, November 21, 2011 - 1:15pm
Tuesday, November 15, 2011 - 12:00am
Monday, November 14, 2011 - 12:14am
Wednesday, November 9, 2011 - 2:42pm
Friday, October 14, 2011 - 4:38pm
Wednesday, August 17, 2011 - 2:14pm
Wednesday, July 27, 2011 - 7:40am
Tuesday, July 26, 2011 - 3:21pm
Thursday, July 21, 2011 - 12:00am
Wednesday, July 20, 2011 - 5:30pm
Thursday, July 7, 2011 - 5:56pm
Monday, May 30, 2011 - 12:00am
Thursday, May 26, 2011 - 2:53pm
Thursday, April 21, 2011 - 7:25pm
Thursday, March 17, 2011 - 4:00pm
Wednesday, March 9, 2011 - 3:34pm
Thursday, September 2, 2010 - 12:01pm
Monday, August 23, 2010 - 12:00am
Monday, June 28, 2010 - 12:00am
Thursday, June 10, 2010 - 12:00am
Thursday, May 20, 2010 - 6:28pm
Sunday, May 16, 2010 - 6:35pm
Tuesday, May 11, 2010 - 6:00pm
Thursday, April 29, 2010 - 12:47pm
Wednesday, April 28, 2010 - 12:00am
Monday, April 26, 2010 - 6:17pm
Sunday, April 25, 2010 - 6:44pm
Tuesday, April 20, 2010 - 12:00am
Thursday, April 15, 2010 - 12:00am
Monday, April 12, 2010 - 12:00am
Thursday, April 1, 2010 - 12:00am
Friday, February 26, 2010 - 6:00am

Pages